The Word House and NaPoWriMo Day 27: Broken Recording

Happy Friday everyone! A busy week for me, what with Express Excess on Wednesday, CAST launch at Goldsmiths Thursday, putting together the first draft of #celebratedpoem, continuing to write a new poem a day for April – and one other exciting venture I can’t talk about just yet!

One thing to mention before today’s NaPoWriMo piece: The Word House. I’ll be hosting our spring event tomorrow at the Gallery Cafe, Bethnal Green from 7.30pm. It’s a ludicrously exciting line-up: teacher-turned-battle-rapper and YouTube sensation Mark Grist, Edinburgh Fringe First award-winning Sabrina Mahfouz and Bang Said the Gun favourite  (a fine endorsement if ever I heard one) Emma JonesDJ Able keeping the atmosphere chilled and effervescent on the decks, and our ever-popular (and always high-quality) open-mic. It’s always a joy to host as we pack out the room with enthusiastic poetry fans and new-comers alike. I can’t wait, and hope to see you there!

- Dan

Broken Recording

At work I’m recording
how long it takes
to do each part of my job.

I’m not recording
how long it takes
to record how long it takes
to record each part of my job

because if I recorded
how long it takes
to record how long it takes
to record each part of my job
then I’d have to record that, too.

And that would just be silly.

Leave a Reply

