Inter-dimensional quantum buses (or, two gigs in one evening)

In my last post I said that I was having a quiet couple of weeks on the gig-front. Well, sometimes it’s like inter-dimensional quantum buses: nothing on the event horizon, and then suddenly two simultaneously materialise in a shimmer of distorted particles and wave functions.

So yes: two gigs in one evening. This Friday (25 May) I’ll first be whizzing down to Brighton for Don’t Feed the Poets, part of Word Jam Fridays, a weekly show put on by New Writing South as part of  Brighton Fringe. This edition is brought to your by that master of mirth  Justin Coe, and features Yvo Luna and one of my very favourite performers, Mr. B The Gentleman Rhymer.

Unfortunately I won’t be sticking around for the awesome chap-hop banjolele verbal dexterity of Mr. B since I’ll be hot-stepping out of there to get myself to my second gig of the evening in Hackney. 25 May is Towel Day: a celebration of the genius of Douglas Adams (author of The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy). In honour of the man, those fine people at Whippersnapper Press are putting on the Vogon Poetry Slam, featuring nerdcore and so-bad-it’s-good poems. They promise that:

There will be prizes. There will be hoopy froods. There will be an unnecessarily bureaucratic voting system.

I’ll be doing a feature set at the end of the evening. It’s going to be a brilliant evening, and not just for fans of Douglas Adams! Hope to see you at one of these.

- Dan

P.S. Once again, I Hide Clyde.

Leave a Reply

