The Culture Awards and 3 cool things

I’m just back from a lovely couple of days in Canterbury, where I was celebrating the arts in the District at The Culture Awards. This annual set of prizes aims to recognise the importance of culture in the area, and I was thrilled to be up for the Cultural Pioneer Award for my crowdsourced poem I Love Kent Coast. Accidental Collective took the prize on the night for their sterling work on Pot Luck, which has been bringing so many performing arts individuals and organisations together. A huge and well-deserved congratulations to Pablo, Daisy and new member of the group Phoebe, and here’s to their continued success with the project!

Congratulations to all The Culture Awards winners and nominees this year, and of course to Canterbury for Culture for organising this important event. Much kudos to the Creative Canterbury and Year One Consulting teams for putting on such a fabulous awards evening at Canterbury Christ Church University – it was a brilliant event: a perfect balance with a hilarious host, sincere speeches, great music, flowing drinks, tasty food and wicked dancing!

Whilst away, three cool things came into my inbox. First of all, I’m going to be writing poems to order on Sunday 1 July as part of the Poetry Takeaway, which is rolling up for Poetry Parnassus at Southbank Centre! I’ve been wanting to do it for a while and am really looking forward to trying my hand at writing poems to taste! Second cool thing: I’m going to be tweeting super-short poems for The Flaneur, an indie cultural blog site that has reviewed The Word House a couple of times. Look out for those on my Twitter feed (@dansimpsonpoet) and on The Flaneur’s (@flaneurzine), and by searching for #flaneur! Lastly, I’ve rearranged my dates to visit the Edinburgh Fringe so I can take part in a pretty prestigious slam – but more on that at a later date…

- Dan

Leave a Reply

