A peacock attends Larmer Tree Festival and is more popular than some of the bands.

Larmer Tree, The Word House and BBC Slamming

There is a strange building in the middle of this field. Why? The Victorians. That’s why.

I’m back from an awesome weekend at Larmer Tree Festival – who knew mud could exist in such quantities?! Despite the squelchyness of the site, I had a brilliant time performing and seeing other acts. Larmer Tree is set in the eponymous Gardens, and dotted around the site were cool Victorian buildings and lots of wandering peacocks! A truly unique and beautiful setting for a festival.

I arrived and immediately performed at The Social, a sort of hang-out tent with variety acts. A receptive and appreciative audience, and I tried some new material which went down well. Later, I made my way to the Lostwood, a secluded grove at the back of the site where we had a stage. I performed twice there over the weekend, and we had a really good turn-out despite going up against the headliners!

A peacock attends Larmer Tree Festival and is more popular than some of the bands.

Aside from performing, I got to meet and see poets I knew only by reputation – always a pleasant thing! Finally saw Anna Freeman, Helen Gregory, Scott Tyrrell, David C Johnson, Dreadlock Alien and Adam Horovitz, and caught up with Jo Bell after far too long too. Didn’t quite get to say hello to Megan Beech, but she was wicked on stage.

I played board games (Carcassonne!), witnessed the subtle and hilarious street theatre of Mobile Disco, looked at stars without city lights, and watched the awesome Dizraeli and the Small Gods, and The Correspondents, tear it up. I even ran a workshop on Saturday afternoon with a lovely group who wrote and performed a poem for Larmer Tree – will post the video when I can!

Back to the here and now, and the future: two gigs to tell you about. The Word House is back for our one year anniversary and after four sell-out shows we’ve moved to a bigger space! Come down to XOYO on Saturday 28 July to see Katie Bonna and Richard Marsh, Mister Gee and David J feature, plus the open mic-ers and DJ Able putting out some soulful instrumental hip hop. It’s going to be a seriously good night.

And lastly – a couple of posts ago I mention a slam I’d been asked to take part in. I can now tell you that I’ll be competing (in the least competitive way possible) in the BBC Poetry Slam at Edinburgh Fringe! I was honoured and thrilled to have been asked by organiser and host Young Dawkins, and now that I’ve seen the line-up I’m doubly so. Wow. Come to BBC Potterrow’s Second Space to see some incredible spoken word – I’m in heat 4 on Thursday 23 August. It’s free, but do reserve tickets!

Before that though, some gigs as part of Popup Screens‘ outdoor cinema season, and Green Man Festival too! All details to the right.

- Dan

One thought on “Larmer Tree, The Word House and BBC Slamming

  1. Cheers Dan, Meg Beech here! Loved your stuff and shame didn’t get a chance to properly introduce myself. Big fan of your work. All the best!
    Meg

Leave a Reply

